MARIETTA, OHIO — The Washington State College of Ohio (WSCO) Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) chapter, Alpha Rho Gamma, has demonstrated exceptional accomplishments this year, earning prestigious recognitions and awards at the state and regional levels that highlight the chapter’s dedication to academic excellence, community service, and leadership.

PTK is the official honor society for two-year college students, recognizing academic achievement and providing opportunities for growth and development through honors, leadership, and service programs. Brad Merritt has been the Chapter Advisor for the WSCO PTK chapter, Alpha Rho Gamma, for 15 years. His continued leadership and strong mentorship have cultivated a culture within the chapter that empowers PTK members to see their full potential. “Watching our students excel academically and grow as leaders in service is incredibly rewarding. Their achievements are a testament to their passion and hard work and it is a privilege to be able to support them,” said Merritt.

Merritt and members of the Alpha Rho Gamma chapter attended the Ohio Regional Convention, held at Cuyahoga Community College in Cleveland, OH, where the chapter received numerous awards and nominations showcasing their dedication to the PTK mission:

  • Alpha Rho Gamma won 1st place in the Honors in Action Theme Award titled, “Pay it Forward.”
  • Alpha Rho Gamma won 3rd place out of 41 chapters for its college project “Establishing and Promoting Student Scholarship for Success.”
  • For the 13th consecutive year, Alpha Rho Gamma was named a Five Star Chapter, a testament to their sustained excellence.
  • Stacy Jarvis, Chapter President, was elected the President of the Ohio Region, reflecting her exemplary leadership.
  • Ashur Pritchett, Vice President of Service, was honored with the Order of Athena, a Chapter Officer Award of Appreciation, and was also nominated for the Most Distinguished Chapter Officer Award.

In addition to the awards and nominations at the Ohio Regional Convention, three distinguished students from Alpha Rho Gamma were honored as members on the All-Ohio Community College Academic Team. Only fifty-six students were selected from across the state of Ohio to be honored for the 2024 team. The selected students from Ohio’s twenty-three Community Colleges were chosen due to their outstanding excellence in academics, leadership, and community service. WSCO’s Helena Hardy and Lillian Westbrock were named to the 2nd State Team, while Frederick McKitrick was named on the 3rd State Team.

The student members of Alpha Rho Gamma earned many accomplishments throughout the year, as did their Chapter Advisor. Merritt received the Horizon Award at the Ohio Regional Convention, which recognizes advisors who excel in helping members with professional development and implementing the Phi Theta Kappa Five Star Chapter Plan. He was also recognized for his dedication to the WSCO PTK chapter and successful completion of the Five Star Advisor Plan at the WSCO April Board meeting. Merritt also became the first recipient of the WSCO Excellence Award for Exemplary Community Service. “Being recognized for my contributions is a tremendous honor, but the true joy comes from watching our students grow and succeed,” Merritt stated when asked about his achievements.

As the Alpha Rho Gamma chapter prepares for another successful year, they congratulated and welcomed several newly inducted members who will help shape and accomplish the chapter’s goals for 2024-2025:

Kyndal Buchanan
Layla Buchanan
Easton Childress
Summer Colvin
Chelsea Doonan
Melissa Edgell
Jasson Folts
Judy Kuhn
Lainee Mace
Ashten Martin

Jaden Martin
Jonathan Mazariego
Jessica McKinney
Ric McKitrick
Olivia Olsen
Keith Parker
Rheagan Rector
Marissa Sarringhausen
Joel Van Way

If you would like to learn more about the WSCO PTK chapter, Alpha Rho Gamma, please email Chapter Advisor Brad Merritt at