Washington State College of Ohio (WSCO) Board of Trustees swore in LeeAnn M. Johnson as its newest member during its meeting on Monday afternoon.

MARIETTA, OHIO— Washington State College of Ohio (WSCO) Board of Trustees swore in LeeAnn M. Johnson as its newest member during its meeting on Monday afternoon.

Appointed by Governor Mike DeWine, Johnson was recently re-elected as the 30th Senate District Ohio Republican State Central Committee Woman. She also serves as the secretary on the executive board of directors of the Appalachian Children Coalition and is a board member of the Ohio Governor’s Imagination Library Program.

“I am extremely honored to have been appointed by Governor DeWine to the Washington State College of Ohio Board of Trustees. Having deep roots in this region, including a son that attended and earned credits from Washington State during his high school years, I’ve personally observed the quality of education and the commitment Washington State has to the people who live here. It is my desire to do all I can to help advance Washington State’s efforts to offer opportunities to anyone who wants to advance their education,” Johnson said.

Johnson is a graduate of St. Petersburg College in St. Petersburg, Florida, one of the most highly regarded dental hygiene programs in the southeast; and she’s a registered dental hygienist and patient coordinator for Marietta-based dentist, Dr. John Frye. She will graduate in December from Ohio University with a degree in Integrated Health Studies, and is actively involved in several local organizations, including the Washington County Republican Women’s Club, the People’s Bank Theater Board of Directors, and the Marietta Country Club Board of Directors. She is also a past member of the Marietta Welfare League, the Betsey Mills Club, Junior Women’s Club of Poland, and the Canfield Welcome Wagon.

“LeeAnn will bring a state and national perspective to the board. Her political office, combined with her advocacy work to support Appalachian communities, particularly those of Washington County, will be an asset to our team. Likewise, her many local community service organization connections will help strengthen WSCO’s partnerships,” said WSCO President Dr. Vicky Wood. “As a community college graduate and as someone who returned to college as an adult, LeeAnn will be able to closely identify with an important demographic of students Washington State serves.”

The WSCO Board of Trustees is comprised of electors who reside in Washington or Morgan counties. The current board includes David Vandenberg, chair; Tyler Wilcox, vice chair; Jodey L. Altier; Bernie Anderson; Randy Barengo; Cinda Erickson; Daniel Pennock; and Susan Vessels.