PTK Fall Induction

MARIETTA, OH (Dec. 7, 2017)— The Alpha Rho Gamma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) at Washington State College of Ohio (WSCO) recently inducted its largest group in several years. The organization also made some exciting scholarship announcements.

WSCO’s PTK added 30 members to its roster, bringing the organization’s total membership to 50. The surge in membership is its greatest in three years and Brad Merritt, PTK Advisor, credits increased awareness and visibility on campus, citing a long list of activities the members are involved with, including a very successful Constitution Day event and fundraisers, including an upcoming Lunch with Santa. The chapter has also been recognized regionally and nationally as having one of the highest retention rates in the country.

PTK was established in 1918 and is recognized by the American Association of Community Colleges as the official honor society for two-year colleges. Memberships are extended to students who complete at least 12 credit hours with a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.5.

New members include: Zachary Barnes, Machelle Blankenship, Joel Bricker, Emma Christman, Elena Donnelly, Buffie Durham, Stephanie Flanagan, Joshua Galland, Josh Guiler, Creighton Henthorn, Brandon Herb, James Hoban, Abigael Huffman, Eli Hunter, Alyssa Huntsman, Elayna Jacobs, Amanda Martin, Jenna Maston, Brittany McKerrow, Amy McKown, Mary Lou Moegling, Maddison Poole, Rachael Rhodes, Brenda Schwendeman, Skyler Secrest, Cameron Sparkman, Cotlon Sunderman, Mary Thesken, Victoria Van Dyke, and Amber Williams

In addition to the students who were inducted, the evening also featured several special acknowledgments and announcements. The PTK chapter inducted WSCO’s Library Director Mary Lou Moegling as an honorary member. Current members wanted to recognize the efforts Moegling has made over the years to ensure the success of the organization’s projects.

Sondra L. Holbert, a 2005 graduate of WSCO and former member of PTK, announced the establishment of The Sondra L. Holbert Phi Theta Kappa Travel Fund. This fund will be used to support travel opportunities for WSCO student members of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society. Currently, Holbert is a member of the WSCO Foundation Board of Directors and is a long-time volunteer on the Foundation’s Scholarship Selection Committee. She credits her PTK experience with providing opportunities that she would not have had otherwise and described her membership as providing a sense of belonging and was instrumental in her life, enabling her to form lifelong friendships. Holbert continues to volunteer regularly in support of the WSCO PTK Alpha Rho Gamma chapter.

Merritt also announced the renaming of one of the chapter’s scholarships. The Alpha Rho Gamma Scholarship was renamed to honor two former and still very active members, Sondra Holbert and Roy Campbell. The $500 scholarship will henceforth be known as the Holbert – Campbell Scholarship and will continue to be given to an eligible member to help defray academic expenses.
Both scholarships are administered by the WSCO Foundation. Contributions to these scholarships or other Foundation scholarships can be made via check or online. Online giving options can be found conveniently at on the Giving link at the top of the screen.

For more than 45 years, Washington State College of Ohio has fueled the community’s future through education. We work to make a positive impact by providing opportunities for growth. Whether you are a recent high school graduate or an adult student looking to enrich your life, we cultivate pathways to guide you toward future growth. Be inspired. Be WSCO. For more information about Washington State College of Ohio, visit or call 740.374.8716.